First, you’ve got to get mad.

Without this song, I’m not sure I would have reported my last assault. The speech in the beginning (from the 1976 movie Network) has been a huge inspiration to me. It shook me out of my numbness and depression and inspired in me an outrage that made me want to do something about what had happened to me. Beyond that, it made me want to do something about the fact that it continues to happen at all, to anyone.

We sit watching our TV’s while some local newscaster tells us that today we had fifteen homicides and sixty-three violent crimes, as if that’s the way it’s supposed to be… 

… first, you’ve got to get mad. You’ve got to say, “I’M A HUMAN BEING, GODDAMMIT, MY LIFE HAS VALUE! … I’M MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE!”

Rape, murder, homelessness and general mistreatment of our fellow human beings… it’s NOT the way it’s supposed to be, but we’re numbed to it more and more each day. As the speech goes, I don’t know what to do about it but it all starts with giving a shit, and if you give a shit you’ll get mad, and if you get mad maybe you’ll stand up and do something about it.

(YOUR ANGER IS A GIFT).

“Ma, wherever ya see a cop beatin’ a guy / Wherever a hungry newborn baby cries / Wherever there’s a fight against the blood and hatred in the air / Look for me ma / I’ll be there. Wherever somebody’s strugglin’ for a place to stand / For a decent job or a helping hand / Wherever sombody’s strugglin’ to be free / Look in their eyes ma / You’ll see me!

I am a human being.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Women of Caliber

No Boys Allowed... Unless Accompanied by a Responsible Girl

anarchopac

Anarchist & Marxist Theory & History

ANTI-MANARCHY

Writing for the vindication of the anarchafeminists forsaken by 2010s-era anarchism

Robert Graham's Anarchism Weblog

Anarchism: A Documentary History of Libertarian Ideas

MB3-org.com

Anarchist Collective

THE FEMINIST HOUSEWIFE

because you CAN be both

Sergeant Polly

Feminism and the every day.

I was a high-school feminist

Feminist perspectives on everyday life

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

Princess In Pain

Even royalty feels pain..

